Chinese Snuff Bottle Discussion Forum 中國鼻煙壺討論論壇

Public Forum Categories and Boards => Themes, Scenes, Scroll, and Silk Paintings as Related to Inside Painted and Porcelain Only => Topic started by: richy88 on September 30, 2022, 04:30:48 am

Title: The Eight Daoist Symbols and the Eight Buddhist Treasures
Post by: richy88 on September 30, 2022, 04:30:48 am
Hi all

As requested, here is a summary of the Eight Daoist symbols and the Eight Buddhist treasures for your reference:

The eight vessels belonging to the legendary eight immortals in the Chinese mythology each have their unique power
and feature. They also symbolise the various auspicious values associated with each of them.

Together, these eight vessels are called the "Covert Eight Immortals" (暗八仙).

The immortals and their associated vessels are:

Zhang Guolao (張果老), a sage with a drum that tells fortune.
Lü Dongbin (吕洞宾), a scholar with a sword that drives away evils.
Han Xiangzi (韩湘子), a scholar with his flute nourishes nature.
He Xiangu (何仙姑), the only female of the group, holding a lotus flower that symbolises self-cultivation.
Li Tieguai (李铁拐), is depicted as a beggar who uses his double gourd to fight for the oppressed and needy.
Zhongli Quan (钟离权), a sage depicted holding a large fan that can resurrect the dead and transform stones into silver or gold.
Cao Guojiu (曹国舅), the imperial brother-in-law, is often depicted dressed in official robes and holding a jade tablet that can purify the environment.
Lan Caihe (蓝采和), an immortal depicted as a youth carrying a basket of flowers that has magical power.

I have written about these Eight Daoist Symbols in my book, Snuff Bottle Collection from the Rui Studio Volume 2, page 60.

The Eight Buddhist Treasures are as follows:

The Parasol - a symbol of royal dignity and protection from the heat.
The Two Fish - represents no fear to drown like fish in the water.
The Conch Shell - it represents the sound of the Dharma reaching the wide, awakening beings from ignorance.
The Lotus - a widely used symbol in Buddhism to represent purity and the true nature of beings.
The Banner - a symbol of victory over evils and fear.
The Vase - it represents the fullness of Buddha's teachings as well as longevity and prosperity.
The Wheel - the eight spokes of the wheel represent the Eightfold Path in Buddhism.
The Eternal Knot = it represents the unions of emptiness and clarity.

For your reference.